Director of Research

sample (1)

Dr.B.R. Gurumurthy (agri.),
Ph.D(Crop Physiology)

Director of Research

University of Agricultural & Horticultural Sciences,

Shivamogga – 577204

 : [email protected]

: +91-94808 38955


Profile: Dr. B.R.Gurumurthy



          The Directorate of Research is functioning directly under the Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga. It is taking care of the research, planting material and seed production requirements of the farmers of the seven districts namely Shimoga, Chickmagalur, Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Kodagu, Davanagere and Chitradurga. It is covering Central Dry (4), Southern Transitional (7), Hilly (9) and coastal (10) zones of the agro-climate of the state. The rainfall varies from 650 mm to 4,000 mm. The University has four Zonal Agricultural and Horticultural Research Stations and eight Agricultural and Horticultural Research Stations representing all the climatic conditions. Respectively,  assorted crop conditions are observed in different zones, like Ragi, Groundnut, Sesamum, Redgram, Field bean, Castor, Maize, Cotton, Paddy, etc. The important horticulture crops cultivated are Pomegranate, Papaya, Banana, fig, Arecanut, Coconut, Cashew, Bhendi, Tomato, Brinjal, Onion, Gourds, Chillies, Cardamom, ginger, Chrysanthemum, Tuberose, Marigold, Crossandra etc.

The University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga is functioning under tripatriate system on Teaching, Research and Extension areas. The mission of University is to conduct research on agriculture and horticulture crops to increase the productivity.


The University has seven districts under its jurisdiction namely Shimoga, Chikkamagalur, Chitradurga, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Davanagere and Coorg districts comprising four agro climatic zones.


The important zones coming under the University are Central Dry (Zone-4), Southern Transitional (Zone-7), Hilly (Zone-9) and Coastal (Zone-10). The zones depict vivid climatic conditions (low to very high rain fall) and vivid soil conditions (sandy, red to deep black soils). The most important crops cultivated are arecanut, coconut, coffee, cardamom, pepper, cocoa, nutmeg, mango, banana, sapota, pomegranate, fig, jasmine, chrysanthemum, marigold, tomato, onion, bhendi, brinjal, paddy, ragi, redgram, groundnut, sunflower, bajra, tobacco, maize and others.


In order to cater to the farmers need of different climate and soils four Zonal Agricultural and Horticultural Research Stations (ZHARS) along with eight Agricultural and Horticultural Research Stations are working on various crops. The University has the great challenges as compared to other Universities because of the integration of both Agriculture and Horticulture crops. The cropping position varies from annuals both in Agriculture and Horticulture, in addition to the perennial horticulture crops.


The University is very young and it has 6 All India Coordinate Research Projects (AICRP), 25 and 33 projects from different funding agencies. The University has already released 15 varieties and has several technologies in different crops. It has designed 6 equipments for the benefit of farming community. In addition, it is producing good quality seeds and planting material and distributing to the farmers.